Jacob Ind – Justified Parracide?

On Dec. 17, 1992, 15-year-old Jacob Ind went to school after a sleepless night. In the early hours of that morning he murdered his mother and stepfather, Pamela and Kermode Jordan. He planned to commit suicide but a friend told the principal, who called the police. According to Jacob’s brother, Charles, the murders were the culmination of years of abuse by their parents. Jacob began thinking about killing his parents when he was “12 or 13“. “What basically put me towards the path is I saw no way out,” he said. Even after the killings, Jacob seemed detached from the reality of what he’d done. “I didn’t really grasp the permanency of their deaths. I definitely didn’t understand the gravity of what it means to kill somebody. I mean, I didn’t think they’d feel pain. I didn’t think that anybody else would be affected. I remember I was sitting in the police station — and this is how out of touch of reality I was. I had a small amount of marijuana, like an eighth of an ounce, in my bedroom. And I’m telling my brother, ‘You got to get the marijuana or else I’m in trouble.’ I’m arrested for first-degree murder, and I don’t think I’m in trouble!”  Watch adult crime, adult time the jacob ind story

Jacob’s trial began on May 12, 1994. His lawyers argued he acted in self-defense in killing his parents to put a stop to years of physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Charles testified both boys were molested by their stepfather saying, “He would wait until we got home, oftentimes sneaking up behind me or Jacob and throwing us into the bathroom — literally taking us by the shoulders and tossing us into the bathroom. And there he would hit us across the face and body and say, ‘Get on the toilet,’ and he would pull the ropes out from underneath the credenza.” For Jacob what was as damaging was the emotional battering from his mother. “That’s the one thing I wanted more than anything was somehow to earn her love,” Jacob stated. “She made it absolutely clear that she hated me. That is more hurtful than getting hit across the face or getting beaten.”  Jacob offered a schoolmate named Gabrial Adams $2,000 to kill his parents while he was sleeping. “It was supposed to be two shots, quick and painless,”J acob explained. Adams botched the job and Jacob fired the fatal shots. Jacob was convicted of two counts of first-degree murder. As a juvenile, he was not eligible for the death penalty; instead, he was given a mandatory sentence of life without parole. Three juror stated information about Jacob’s home life might have swayed their votes. One of those jurors, Patricia Scott, said she did not realize a guilty verdict would trigger an automatic sentence of life without parole. In Colorado, jurors are instructed not to consider sentencing when weighing a verdict.  Watch Inside Supermax – Part I

Of the 14 years that Jacob spent in prison thus far, eight of them were spent in the state supermax, Colorado State Penitentiary; he spent 23 hours a day in solitary confinement. He was sent there in 1995 after prison officials found contraband in his cell: a rope he claims he was using as a clothesline and a sharpened piece of rebar he kept to defend himself from other prisoners. Jacob’s view of his crime and punishment evolved. “I don’t second-guess what I did, not one bit. I’m happier now than I could imagine anyone ever being.” He said he enjoyed his supermax detention but the reality of his crime and his sentence set in. “When I was younger, when I knew how much it would hurt to face my responsibility, I’d try to blame it on my parents by saying, well, if they didn’t do this to me, … I wouldn’t have had to kill them,” he said. “I can’t blame my parents for my family’s pain, for me being here. I can only blame myself and the fact that I wasn’t strong enough to stand up against them.”  Watch FRONTLINE – putting children in jail for life

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

