She Doesn’t Like Mondays

Brenda Ann Spencer is a convicted American spree killer who committed multiple murders from her home in San Diego, California on January 29, 1979. During the shooting spree, she killed two people and injured nine others at Cleveland Elementary School, which was located across the street from her home. Spencer showed no remorse for her crime, and her explanation for her actions was “I don’t like Mondays; this livens up the day“, inspiring the song “I Don’t Like Mondays” by The Boomtown RatsClick here to listen to I Don’t Like Mondays.

Born in San Diego, Spencer purportedly took an early liking to guns. For Christmas in 1978, her father Wallace gave her a semi-automatic .22 caliber rifle.Before parole board 1999, she said: “I asked for a radio and he brought me a gun. I felt like he wanted me to kill myself.” On January 29, 1979, Brenda sat by a window and began shooting at Grover Cleveland Elementary School. She opened fire as children were waiting outside for principal Burton Wragg to open the gate.The shooting claimed the lives of Wragg and Mike Suchar, and injured eight students and a police officer. Spencer barricaded herself inside her home, warning police that she was going to “come out shooting.” Ultimately, she surrendered to police.  Watch deadly women – female sociopaths

When asked why she committed the gun attack Spencer replied, “I just did it for the fun of it. I don’t like Mondays. This livens up the day. I have to go now. I shot a pig [policeman] I think and I want to shoot more. I’m having too much fun [to surrender].” She also said, “I had no reason for it, and it was just a lot of fun,” “It was just like shooting ducks in a pond,” and, “[The children] looked like a herd of cows standing around; it was really easy pickings.” At the time of the shootings, Spencer was 16 years old. She was tried as an adult. She implied the attacks months before: “One of these mornings, you’re gonna look for me”, “no one understands me” “you don’t have to wait very long to see what is going on with me”. She pleaded guilty to two counts of murder and assault with a deadly weapon. She was sentenced to prison for 25 years to life. She is at the California Institution for Women. After becoming eligible for parole in 1993, Spencer was denied four times, the last on August 13, 2009 and will not be eligible again until 2019. Watch I Don’t like Mondays part 3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

